Friday, 16 November 2007

CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund Awards Top Prize to Rogan Gregory

3.1 Phillip Lim & Philip Cranji named runners-up
Friday, November 16, 2007(NEW YORK) The American fashion industry has anointed three of its best and brightest.Rogan Gregory's career received a hefty boost Thursday night, when his namesake fashion brand, Rogan, won the CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund Award, a cash prize of $200,000, a Lexus vehicle with a full year of prepaid parking, and a year's worth of mentoring from a senior industry executive. The evening's runners-up were jewelry designer Philip Crangi and Phillip Lim of 3.1 Phillip Lim, each of whom will pocket $50,000 in addition to receiving business tutelage. Each of the winners also received a Bulgari timepiece.The 2007 CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund Business Advisory Committee has also been named, all of whom will mentor and provide support for the finalists. The committee includes Calvin Klein Inc. president and chief operating officer Tom Murry, Cole Haan chief executive officer James Seuss, NRDC president Richard Baker, Diane von Furstenberg chief financial officer Paul Aberasturi, and David McTague, Liz Clairborne Inc.'s executive vice president of partnered brands.The winners of the fourth installment of the fund, which have set a new benchmark for recognizing rising talent and paving career paths, were revealed at the 7th on Sale black-tie gala, which took place in the 69th Regiment Armory and benefited the CFDA/Vogue Initiative for HIV/AIDS.Previous winners of the fund, underwritten by Barneys New York, Nordstrom, Theory, Vogue, Juicy Couture, Kellwood Co., and Coach, include Doo-Ri Chung, Trovata, and Proenza Schouler's Lazaro Hernandez and Jack McCollough. Runners-up are Derek Lam and Thom Browne, and Rodarte's Laura and Kate Mulleavy and Thakoon Panichgul for Thakoon.A record number of applications were submitted for this year's fund, and in addition to the winners, this year's finalists were: Erin Fetherston, Michael Bastian, Victoria Bartlett of VPL, Lisa Mayock and Sophie Buhai of Vena Cava, Scott Sternberg of Band of Outsiders, Nunthirat Koi Suwannagate of Koi, and Threeasfour's Gabriel Asfour, Angela Donhauser, and Adi Gil.Those charged with reviewing the nominees and making the final decision were a selection committee consisting of CFDA president Diane von Furstenberg, executive director Steven Kolb, and associate director Lisa Smilor; Vogue editor in chief Anna Wintour and fashion news/features director Sally Singer; Barneys New York vice president and fashion director Julie Gilhart; Theory president and founder Andrew Rosen; Jeffrey president Jeffrey Kalinsky; Gap executive vice president of design Patrick Robinson; and Coach president and executive creative director Reed Krakoff.JIM SHI

News from fashion week daily

No comments: